Leadership - Appointments

NSH appointments are individuals who serve a role in the society without the assistance of a committee. NSH appointments are made by the President.
Histology Quality Improvement Program (HistoQIP)
Humberto Trejo Bittar, Robert Brunner, Matthew David Carr, Christa Hladik Cappellano, Ada Feldman, Shane Kohl, Sue Lewis, Robert Lott, Benjamin Mathis, Jeannette Mitchell, Mansoor Nasim, Jennfer Pincus, Lori Schmitt, and Elizabeth Sheppard

HistoQIP is a quality assurance program for histopathology, jointly sponsored by the National Society for Histotechnology and the College of American Pathologists. The primary emphasis of the program is to improve the quality of histologic preparations routinely performed in the histology laboratory through education. NSH representatives on the committee grade submissions and prepare the written materials returned to labs.

Editor, NSH In Action
Janet Dapson, MLT(ASCP)SLS

As the Editor of NSH In Action, Janet's role is to plan, produce, and publish a well-written, informative, interesting, and up-to-the minute newsletter. She functions as editor, typist, designer, desktop publisher, photographer, and proofreader.

Quarterly reminders of the submission date for each edition of the newsletter are distributed to NSH Officers, Chairs, Appointees and Region Directors. Issues have been published within the target month (according to the publication schedule set in Policies and Procedures). This is accomplished with the cooperation of the submitting parties. An occasional submission may be delayed or come in unexpectedly near deadline, but quick reaction has been possible to still provide on-time distribution.

Throughout the year, the newsletter includes promotion of, and reports on, NSH events such as Histotechnology Professionals Day, the Annual Symposium/Convention, and special topic forums. Continuing education opportunities, such as the Webinar schedule, JOH Continuing Education test form and the NSH Quick Quiz, remain an important portion of the newsletter.

Editor, Journal of Histotechnology
Karen J. L. Burg, Ph.D.

The Journal of Histotechnology is a quarterly publication dedicated to technological innovation and enhancements in the field of histology. The Editor in Chief is responsible for the solicitation of articles, review process and the production of this first class scientific Journal.

Webinar Coordinator
Sarah Britton, BS, HTL(ASCP)CM

The Webinar Coordinator is responsible for developing the Annual Webinar Series program and moderating each webinar.

If you are interested in presenting a webinar or if you have a suggestion for a topic please email Sarah.